Abandon Ship, That One Doesn’t Have A Gamepad: What The Nintendo NX Could Do/Mean

nintendo-nx

Well, the name is already an improvement. We’ve all known for a while that Nintendo is working on what seems to be a new console to in my own words “reboot their entry into the HD realm”. Frankly I do think they kind of need it as the Wii U as much as it has some good games and all that swag it has an entry barrier of the Gamepad which personally I ignore but many developers feel is a blockade.

There is also the fact that it isn’t tremendously powerful which doesn’t make it an attractive system to multi-platform with, a lot of tweaking and downgrading to a level that the system can handle. Those things and more have resulted in a bit of a lacking consumer base and would need an unruly amount of help to keep the ship afloat. This new one they dub the Nintendo NX could be a saving grace for Nintendo in a lot of areas, it could also be a real sting to the owners of a Wii U.

I bought my Wii U in February of this year and have gotten around 8-10 games I really wanted to play on it. I wouldn’t commit to silly move of jumping on with the promise of good games like I did with the 3DS….oh how that 3DS Paper Mario tease burned us all. I’m looking forward to a good few and would like to see that coveted Metroid title on the system, even if it did release at tail end of its lifetime.

For all the problems I have with Skyward Sword, to many it certainly rung the bells of the Wiis end and it went out with a bang, many games using every last drop of power they could squeeze out. These pinnacle games, the ones crated after years of finding out how to work the system to perfection, are pretty much always spectacles even if they fall in gameplay areas.

So what if a game released late gets pushed onto the successor as a launch title? I must say I like Twilight Princess being on the Wii but that is mostly cos I owned a Wii and not a Gamecube. Would I care that much if the Zelda we await gets a launch day port to the successor? I think I might be a little upset if they just straight up moved it to the NX but a port would probably sit well.

Of course creating the console or whatever it is wouldn’t be a simple year long project, they begin work on brainstorming as early as even the launch of whomsoever it succeeds. Does this spell a lack of support from Nintendo, pretty much the best supporter of the system, in favour or making sure the NX gets the start the Wii U didn’t? I sure hope not, I feel like the Wii U has gotten into its stride especially since Smash 4 and springing a leak when we finally got her going is just too cruel.

Not just the manpower shift, what if this late in they really do decide not to make a Metroid for the Wii U and decide to shift development onto the next system? I know draughts and long development isn’t that odd for the Metroid franchise but I think with the sting of federation force they really need to show they are actually listening.

One thing they better not touch for a damn long while is the Online services for the Wii U, I still got Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate to knock out and just playing Mario Kart 8 again today, the online is its lifeblood. Hell just playing the game I realise how great it looks and how much Nintendo could do with a system to really push to its limit.

I genuinely wish we had gotten our 3D Mario game later after they worked out their kinks in proper HD development when seeing 8. I still want to see the game that smacks you in the face, that Super Mario Galaxy “look at how drop dead beautiful I am”. Maybe it will be one of many games in the works to showcase mastery of the system.

In the end we can only hope the timing and marketing of the NX gets us the Nintendo….”device” we always wanted: the power to turn game concepts into reality, the support to keep the shelves full, the online that gives Nintendo classics the lifeline they need and a careful trickling off of the Wii U.

If they go cold turkey they are gonna make enemies, that’s for sure. Let’s hope they have a proper plan this time without a shoehorned gimmick…. seriously the Wiimote+Nunchuck combo is too good to walk away from for me. I’ll go classic or pro when the situation demands but otherwise I’m pretty much married to it…. peripherals need love too.

What do you expect will happen to the Wii U upon the NX debut? Do you have concerns of woe or dreams of delight for the NX? Is the likelihood Nintendo has learned for their mistakes low or high do you think? Thanks for the read and I’ll see you later.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by YvoCaro on August 27, 2015 - 5:37 pm

    I agree, once the NX is announced, that will be the end of the WiiU. But reading your blog I understand that I’m one of the few that really, really like the gamepad! To me, as a handheld gamer, it’s the best way to game on the WiiU with my family around me. They can hog the TV all they want, and I can still play!

    Like

    • #2 by Prof.mcstevie on August 27, 2015 - 5:42 pm

      The resolution and battery life are my main two issues of the actual pad, the implementation of it and forced use on occasion are my issues with developers shoehorning it in.

      I thought it had potential and it’s had some nice uses….but when I game on a console it’s in a nice chair on a big screen in all the glorious HD I can handle.

      I don’t need to delegate to a second screen that much so its most promising feature is lost on me.

      Like

  2. #3 by hutchwp on August 19, 2015 - 11:11 pm

    As soon as the next Nintendo console is announced, the Wii U will crash and burn. People will stop buying it, forcing a price drop for consoles, and (as you’ve alluded to) games will be held back to become launch titles. No doubt internally they have plans for all this – I expect the Zelda game will be available on the Wii U, no doubt Mario Party 11 will appear and we have the likes of Mario Tennis Ultra Smash to look forward to.

    On the flipside, and it pains me to say this as a Wii U owner and supporter, they need a new console. I genuinely believe that the offering on Wii U is superior to any other console at the moment (unless you include PS3 and Xbox 360), but the gamepad is a blocker and the low power has always prevented the hardcore gamers from making the jump. Basically, they need to learn from their mistakes and give their everything to what could potentially be their last entry into the home console market.

    Like

    • #4 by Prof.mcstevie on August 20, 2015 - 12:25 am

      It’s a weird feeling, I want them to learn from their mistakes but…. well I only bought said mistake earlier this year dammit!

      Liked by 1 person

    • #5 by hutchwp on August 20, 2015 - 6:31 am

      The thing is that there are a whole load of excellent games already available and more on the way. I don’t think PS4 or Xbox One have anything on a par with MK8 or Smash Bros.

      Like

    • #6 by Prof.mcstevie on August 20, 2015 - 4:03 pm

      Nothing with that kind of wide appeal with depth for the experienced, no. Nintendo are usually on point on creating games that suit many kinds of people, a shame many kinds of people don’t try it past the opening simplicity.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

