If You Wanted Mercy That Was 5 Stops Back: Games You Abandon Because Of Difficulty

Untitled

It is a damn good thing all games are not made equal because some of them kick my ass. Some of them when I was a kid because hey, children learn best through blood and tears. Others perpetually piss me off to this day and I can never go further than a few levels before my sanity chimes in.

As a kid, it’d have to be a little game known as Oddworld: Abes Oddysee for the PS1. Good god this game looked harsh and miserable at the beginning of the game. In fact that probably works well as a tutorial, I wanted to climb out of the cesspool and escape to fresh air like nothing else. I’d like to, except all 7 of those meat grinders have a different opinion.

This game is mean. I don’t say that out of sourness at it’s brutal beatdowns, it is genuinely mean pretty much consistently. I didn’t beat it till I went back when I was in my teenage years and even then I would spend a lot of time dying to a single puzzle trying to figure out all the kinks. Needless to say unless you go infuriatingly out of your way to save some “civilians”, you get a bad ending. a bad ending.

I don’t know if I’d recommend it despite it being a really enjoyable game when everything is going your way. I suppose it really depends on how often things work out. I guess my suggestion is and I quote “what could go wrong?”

I don’t think I’ve ever abandoned any game past say the PS2 generation, asshole difficulty was running dry and we could all get along with our video games and controllers. Poor controller, one of them was lodged in a wall after some rubber banding AI took the absolute piss, not just some, not all. The ultimate form of piss was taken, just wrap your head around that for a while.

Oh but of course there are old games I’ve never even wanted to beat, looked up playthroughs and realised I am wiser than I give myself credit. Anybody here know of the name Ecco The Dolphin for the Sega Genesis? Such is the story of a dolphin who travels through time and fights aliens to protect his pod, all with the classic flavours of old school bullshit hard.

The controls are terrible, navigation is terrible, enemies are assholes, checkpoints are very few and far between. The soundtrack was intimidating and the sound effects were petrifying. I know of many players who were traumatised by this game and became aqua-phobic because of what this game did to them.

Can’t blame them though, the creatures of the deep are pretty mean at times, I know if I saw old Ecco even in a paddling pool I’d break the high jump record out of pure fear. I don’t even want to beat the game and I usually will push through to not give the game the satisfaction. Fuck it, you win game now release me as soon as possible. A whole run of a JRPG and its new game plus to max level? Sure. Ecco The Dolphin? I’d rather jump in a bathtub filled with tiny knives.

What games did you give up on when you were young to come back to? What games have you just completely given up on, never beaten to this day out of difficulty? Do you think games are mostly easier now or simply more reasonable and capable? Thanks for the read and I’ll see you later.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gaming Backlog on August 12, 2015 - 4:19 am

    Games are a lot easier now, and I think some of the games people thing are easy are just because they’ve played them so much. I beat GTA V in a relatively short period of time, but I still haven’t beat Super Mario Bros. HA, so most of you will read that and think, “dude hasn’t beat the original Super Mario Bros.? Dude can’t play video games.” Maybe so, but that’s the one that’s given me such a super hard time in the past. When I bought my Nintendo Wii, it was one of the first games from the Virtual Console I bought, and I got further than I ever had before. Wouldn’t you know, the control started messing up, adding a whole new level of frustration to my playing experience by randomly shutting off at the most inopportune moments (batteries were fine, I checked). I guess you can say I’ve given up on Super Mario Bros., but it’s mostly due to device issues. One day… One day.

    Also, I never played the original The Legend of Zelda. It’s mostly due to the extreme fear that the game would be WAY too hard, even though it looks like it could be fun to try.

    Like

    • #2 by Cirsova on August 12, 2015 - 1:36 pm

      Original Zelda just takes some patience. Zelda 2 required mad skills, though; those sword fights were tough as hell.

      Liked by 1 person

    • #3 by Prof.mcstevie on August 12, 2015 - 8:19 pm

      I’ve seen battle with Darknuts in the original Legend of Zelda….it makes me want to pull my hair out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

