You Make It So Hard To Love You: WordPress User Interface Alterations

maxresdefault

Considering it was around 2 weeks I was practically gone from WordPress, I shouldn’t have been that surprised there would be alterations to the Reader. Yet here I am still trying to fiddle with the new layout and for goodness sake it just doesn’t agree with me. Scrolling it is now restricted to manual, I can’t check out any post with an exert of the post without being forced to visit the damn site nor have the post pop-up on my screen.

After messing around with it a bit I have found….that I just don’t get who this is for. Is it for mobile? It looks like a pain for mobile users who read on the go. It’s painfully annoying to use on my PC and as such I have been absent from the blogging community as a commentator which bugs me. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m ever going to get used to it, so I guess I’ll just straight up  follow the relevant people.

I’d also like to apologise for the lengthy paragraphs present in many, many of my posts as the creation page for posts puts my paragraphs wider than the actual site or reader, adding on like 3 lines. I thought I was restricting it to 4-5 lines with maybe a bit more on occasion. Nope, in fact I’ve been flooding any potential reader with 7 line paragraphs commonly. Do not worry, I have found the appropriate Preview function and plan to use it to halt such a sin.

What do you think of the changes WordPress has made to your creation or reader experience? What pointers would you give them to make it easier? I personally liked the “classic” Reader and the “classic” layout of user statistics for each day, it was nicer for everyone in my mind and was moronic to change it. Thanks for the read and I’ll see you later.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Opening Sentence on August 18, 2015 - 8:01 pm

    The loss of the pop-up extract on the Reader is a real pain. Could it be a javascript issue not working on mobile browsers? I don’t know, I don’t care. And . . . they got rid of the tag search box on the Reader. Now, if I exhaust the blogs I follow I can’t find the search box to search for other topics.

    Webpage developer’s mantra: If it aint broke, break it.

    Like

    • #2 by Prof.mcstevie on August 18, 2015 - 8:31 pm

      If it is broke, fix it in 2 years while adding a problem in, can’t upset the Feng Shui.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. #3 by leathehatless on August 11, 2015 - 11:02 am

    I also have a hard time keeping up with wordpress. It feels like it changes every week so i am always lost. :/

    Like

    • #4 by Prof.mcstevie on August 11, 2015 - 2:18 pm

      They seem to take a page out of Youtubes book and mess with things JUST COS, like an intern with too much time.

      Liked by 1 person

    • #5 by leathehatless on August 12, 2015 - 6:09 pm

      True. xD

      Like

  3. #6 by Matt on August 10, 2015 - 9:11 pm

    I am all for the classic layout, but maybe that’s because I was used to it.

    Like

    • #7 by Prof.mcstevie on August 10, 2015 - 11:23 pm

      Its utility has dropped like a rock, information has become scattered and irrelevant information has taken its place. It feels very….shall we say focus tested? It seems like someone had merely the IDEA this would be good and didn’t ask a lot of people what they think. I just hate trying to browse now.

      Liked by 1 person

    • #8 by Matt on August 11, 2015 - 1:00 am

      The thing that irks me the most is the stats page. At least when the new one came out we could press a button and go back to the old one. Now that button is gone!

      Like

    • #9 by Prof.mcstevie on August 11, 2015 - 1:46 am

      I recall reading a forum complaining about it and how they said they were going to ease us out of it eventually, essentially ignoring consumer feedback.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

