I Return Bearing Criticism & Discontent: Metroid Prime Federation Force Impressions

metroid-prime-federation-force

I’ll have you know I threw up a little putting the Metroid Prime moniker in the title. I feel all gross now. I’m also back from a little hiatus due to life and other things thinking my blogging efforts needed to be trimmed to bugger all. Well luckily that just means upon my return I got a lot of things to talk about that have been on the backburner for a good few weeks, in which time other information has popped up. it all works out in the end I guess.

So E3 2015 went by and Nintendos Direct came up. The consensus is that it was okay with some disappointments thrown in for seasoning. One such title being the slap in the face that is a somewhat ugly looking 3DS title bearing a flagship franchises name with frankly not much else with it. The internet became awash with negativity and criticism within mere moments, how could this, this of all things be their answer to the polarizing game that is Metroid: Other M, effectively not giving us a widely enjoyed Metroid game in 8 years. I’ve got some things to say about it myself, generally trying to keep an cautiously optimistic mind.

First of all, this is further proof that Nintendos marketing team needs to be fired. This is the worst time in the franchises existence to release a standalone spin off series, even Metroid Pinball of all things was after we already enjoyed the like of Zero Mission and Prime 2. I can guarantee you that this reaction wouldn’t have been a fraction of what it became if it was a tag along to a main entry release, either before or after such a titles release.

Secondly, this game probably features the most uninteresting characters I’ve ever seen in my life. These are very literally the grunts on your side in the franchise, the ally soldiers of Halo essentially, wait no at least Halo gave its marines various voices and basic personalities. These are a very odd choice to expand to Metroid lore with, especially considering there are a few bounty hunters from Prime 3 that many would be interested in delving into. If you want to expand the universe and the lore, I’d sooner see it be done from somebody else, terrible casting choices all around.

Thirdly, the marketing team needs to be fired again. Not only does it not have bad timing, it has the gall to go under the flag “Metroid Prime”. How about instead Metroid Federation: Blah Blah Blah? You know, establish that this is a side story as clear as possible and don’t try and give it a prettier name to sell units and in a sort of indirect way insult the fans. We clearly can tell it is not, don’t give me that crap.

Fourthly, this game shouldn’t have just been dropped and that’s it. Yes Nintendo decided that this was a focus of recent releases but for the love of god you could have alleviated so much damage with a simple “oh there is a true Metroid game in the works don’t worry”. We’ve heard recently the option for a Wii U Metroid is up the the developers, with a lot of people saying it’d be out too late to the end of the Wii Us life. I say Skyward Sword to that. I say Xenoblade Chronicles. I say The Last Of Us. Having access to the most a system can do would do a Metroid game wonders. I’d have hated to see it been made earlier during the baby steps Nintendo took into developing for an HD console.

Finally, we need to of course at bare minimum give this game a chance to come out. Yeah we can hate on the footage we’ve seen and the rather brash insult this and that god forsaken Animal Crossing party game are to a very vocal fanbase asking for otherwise….but don’t sign off on it completely. Personally I don’t like the look of some parts of Star Fox Zero as any others do, I still expect it to be cleaned up and show off something a hell of a lot better as it approaches and eventually releases.

It looks dumb. it’s existence is dumb. It’s name is dumb. It’s timing is dumb. Wouldn’t it be the greatest kick in the teeth to find out it is a decent game on its own merits? Similar to my opinion on Super Mario Sunshine and the Werehog sections in Sonic Unleashed….it’s good, just not appropriate for what it is. Sunshine is not good enough for me to be a Mario game, the Werehog is good but has no place in a Sonic game. Federation Force might be decent….but it doesn’t do the Metroid name justice. Sure I’ll tear it apart till the cows come home on that one, I’ll still accept it isn’t my new personal hell and give it a shot.

The petition was an overreaction, a very violent one at that. Yes this is rather insulting to the devoted fans who very eagerly awaited a Metroid resurgence, no it doesn’t deserve to be cancelled. Nothing deserves to be cancelled in my mind, it is proof that this happened and we all let it so we can laugh at it. Let hatred exist, it’s a shitty game coasting off of controversy and now everyone knows that. Let Sonic Boom exist, it is a hallmark of SEGAs defiant stupidity in game development when the damn creators of the engine said “don’t put it on the Wii U”.

I’m not happy about a lot of Nintendos E3. I wanted to hear word of what exactly it is they are exploring that delayed Zelda Wii U. I wanted a brand new Paper Mario to smack me in the face and ask “Sticker WHO?”. Wow, Nintendo has had a lot of their series have really sour, dividing games as their last recent one. Metroid, Paper Mario, Console Zelda, 3D Mario. Let’s just hope it can be salvageable as a decent experience while welcoming my presence back into the Blog-o-sphere!

What games have you played that divided the fanbase so? What do you expect from Federation Force? Will we see something interesting at Gamescom in early August about anything critical? Thanks for the read and I’ll see you later…hopefully not too later again but later-ish.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Matt on July 29, 2015 - 11:26 am

    Very well-said. There were so many actions Nintendo could have taken to make Federation Force better in the eyes of fans, and they just took the wrong turn in every single one of those crossroads.

    Like

    • #2 by Prof.mcstevie on July 30, 2015 - 1:51 pm

      Presentation is just as good as the meal, I’ll not put something that looks disgusting in my mouth even if it could be a dining delight. Nintendo really need to get that wrapped around their head.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. #3 by rainawareness on July 29, 2015 - 4:22 am

    You know, there’s no need to be so vague with your reviews. We basically have to skip to the 3rd paragraph for the actual review to start, and not everyone’s gonna do that.
    Not to mention, the part of the text that will show up in Google search is: “I’ll have you know I threw up a little putting the Metroid Prime moniker in the title. I feel all gross now. I’m also back from a little hiatus due to life”, which has nothing to do with the game. People looking for reviews on Google will very likely click on one that gets to the point

    Like

  3. #4 by Andy Primm on July 28, 2015 - 8:33 pm

    The only problem I have with Federation Force is like you said: it’s not a mainline Metroid game. I’m sure it’ll at least be better than Hunters, though.

    I’m more intrigued by what you said about Sunshine not being good and 3D World being sour and polarizing. Those games are phenomenal, dude! Neither is my favorite, but they still kick ass.

    Like

    • #5 by Prof.mcstevie on July 28, 2015 - 10:13 pm

      Sunshine is good, not great and Mario games are supposed to be great. 3D World never really hit me with anything interesting, it felt like going through the motions of Mario. I compare it to the Galaxy games that have really glorious moments and areas. I never felt 3D world was hard till the end and a lot of that was really unenjoyable difficulty, I wasn’t doing amazing wall jumps or difficult platforming, it was just a little more treacherous like somebody put some spikes in 1-1.

      It’s alright, it’s just not what I needed from Mario. The fans show its polar result as you can love it and many others can, others like me just…..didn’t feel what you felt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

