A Universe Conspiring Against Blogging: Minor Update On My Lack Of Posts

i-cant-keep-calm-its-too-hot

I was going to resume blogging now that E3 has quietened down and my posts don’t get lost in a sea of “ermagerd guise Ferrout Fer & Kingdom Herts Tree”. Sadly, IT GOT SO VICIOUSLY HOT HERE IN ENGLAND. Hottest day of the year kinda hot, the kinda hot that makes the people born in the lands of blistering heat be reminded of home. I can’t game because I can feel the controller slipping from my hand, if not it just starts to feel like I’m playing with perpetually moist hands. The weather has an infuriating effect on my ability to game comfortably, I wish it could just….go away for a bit while I beat this damn boss.

Okay so maybe when the heat has died down a bit I can get back to it? Hmm, that sounds like something I’d enjoy…which is why it likely won’t happen. Why you ask? Oh you didn’t ask? Well to hell with you I’m venting here. I am to be referred to another training course so that I may continue to apply for my Job Seekers Allowance, that thing that brings in all dat cash so this household can stay afloat. Ignoring my qualms with the job market and the joy of seeing something you could do that requires you travel 5 hours or is an entry level job with a required 3 years of experience…….well I didn’t ignore that much at all.

Disregarding my lack of self control to vent, I will be forced to essentially sit and write down what I’m told are the answers for 7 or so hours, 5 days a week for 2 weeks with a test…in sweltering heat. Ignoring the actual health concerns for being out in this kind of heat for that long, both I know and my advisor knows these courses do nothing.

They are courses that one can do within a space of 2 weeks, containing nothing that I couldn’t simply do online and have done so many times before. My likelihood for acquiring a job in the respective area do not increase as despite what the motivators tell you, very few in the current job market of the UK are seeking out newbies. You need the experience, you need the skills and certificates only the most absurdly dedicated to the menial tasks have.

So unfortunately, that is 2 weeks out of my life where I will be bored, hot as all hell and tired. That is not a good recipe for blogging, that is a recipe for spelling mistakes and humour that doesn’t entertain crickets. A sort of hiatus until life or to be more suspicious the universe stops yanking my chain.

I’ve got thoughts to post, a little viewpoint on E3 stuff including, now brace yourselves, bitching and moaning about Metroid Prime Federation Force! Not to mention I have lots of interesting posts to read, comment upon andby doing such engage pleasant intellectuals in conversation. Stay classy, I will be drifting into the shadows again, my return….. certain, yet draped in uncertainty.

So what do you do when the weather gets so viciously hot? Got any interesting stories of job searching mayhem, pleasant or otherwise? Do you think I will ever be able to return to a semi-regular schedule of blogging without the world being so inconvenient to do so? Thanks for the read and I’ll see you later….much later.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Matt on July 2, 2015 - 4:15 pm

    I hope you will be back soon. I can’t wait to read your bitching and moaning about Metroid Prime Federation Force.

    I don’t do anything special when the weather is hot other than turning on the air-conditioner. It is actually one of the happiest times of the year to be in the office (free air-conditioning!).

    Like

    • #2 by Prof.mcstevie on July 2, 2015 - 10:12 pm

      I so look forward to bashing it, even though it might be a great game in terms of marketing it is possibly the worst idea I’ve seen out of the big N yet. What hilarious timing and naming.

      Liked by 1 person

    • #3 by Matt on July 3, 2015 - 1:02 am

      Yeah, the timing was dreadful. What a slap to the face.

      I am honestly doubtful about the game’s quality, though. Next Level Games deserves as much credit – and a huge deal of benefit of the doubt – as any other company. But the thing looks really dull and generic to me.

      The question I keep asking myself is: if it were a game without the name of a famous franchise and unrelated to both Nintendo and Next Level Games, would it garner any attention?! My answer is always “no”, because it does not look like the kind of game that will do anything significantly different or new.

      Compare it with Splatoon, a game that would have caught anyone’s attention regardless of its producer, and it is possible to see the difference.

      Like

    • #4 by Prof.mcstevie on July 3, 2015 - 5:28 pm

      It COULD be good, but in terms of marketing it is a disaster. Its poorly timed, didn’t show off anything interesting, is tagging along a good series name and we know nothing of interest about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

