The Journey Was Nice, The Destination Not So Much: A Quick Fantasy Life For 3DS Overlook

large

I beat this damn game. I wasn’t thinking I’d do this sort of post however given I made an impression out of whimsy before not doing a sum up after having beat it seemed….cruel.So after 90 hours of chopping, smacking slicing and spamming potions, I beat Fantasy Life. I have to say I rather enjoyed my play through the game and before I say anything else I’d like to clarify it right here: I would recommend you get this game. Now that there is a basic message for people just skimming past all the nit and grit can be explored below for all those who actually care.

There is something very quaint about these kind of games, the kind of game you go around doing rather remedial tasks for hours on end and somehow press on. Flatly defined as such it seems to hold to value yet it creeps into your heart with its small extras in the tasks like skill based little mechanics and the like. I was never irritated about the resource collecting I did as I travelled across the game world but rather excited to face my new opponent in each land, said opponent being a goddamn tree. However apart from resource collection there was and frankly still is a glaring issue with some others.

You will max out to Legend status for your Life for the resource collecting classes before you beat the game. You reach said status for any combat based Life after you beat the game. You will max out to Legend for your crafting Life when you throw away all your time and energy into monotonous busy work. Good god they want you to grind all of the skills relevant to that class to max which is no easy task to get all the points to rank up the final way. Oh and of course the issue persists that I brought up in the impression post, the disproportional requirements and growth of each Life.

I didn’t really touch the crafting classes beyond Expert & Master level until I knew I had beaten the game and gotten access to everything. I would liked to have not done this but it seems materials for a Life such as Carpenter needs materials only a Hero rank Woodcutter can get, forcing me to go throw my efforts elsewhere to even keep every Life progressed to a decent level. Worse still is the also previously mentioned crossover of resource requirements, gotta be a this level Tailor to make this silk which can then be used to make this item for a Carpenter to earn enough points to rank up which then lets me craft a new kind of resource which Blacksmith needs. It hurts my head trying to juggle all these classes and I am happy I ignored it.

The end of the story is a bit of a letdown as well. Spoiler-less will be this description so imagine that you were reading the 4th chapter in a book and were excited to see what is going to happen next, only to find out the chapter captioned “Final” is actually full of a whole bunch of fluff where not much actually happens and things just tie up in an ugly, gruesome bow that makes you feel empty inside. I WAS IN THIS STORY TO WIN IT. It is one thing to have a throwaway story I can simply ignore but there was some investment present and it was thrown into a four way intersection. Don’t get me started on the way they present the post game rewards.

Actually sod it I’ll talk about it. The existence of end game rewards and challenges are pointed out by a handful of letters in your characters postbox, sounding like secret areas full of fascinating new enemies, items or possibly even resources for a fantastic time. In truth? A lifeless area with some crappy items in chests, a stupid shop that doubles as a stat reset which I didn’t even need to touch at level 80 with my perfectly comfortable stats. There is also the kings chest full of some rather decent gear that is equippable for every Life which is nice but I’m already a damn Hero or higher on any actual combat or resource character so I don’t need it at all. I’m probably missing 1 or 2 things but suffice to say I was severely let down given how curious I was about “the closed door” that I couldn’t get through only to find bugger all inside.

Lemme try something positive, this has mostly been a moan about some issues in the game that have really struck me hard which naturally are kind of pushing out all the positive memories of the game. The writing is enjoyable at times. The sense of growth is very prominent in every action which really pushes you forward to improve. The graphics are….gooood? Well they aren’t awful but I certainly never saw anything to write home about. Oh! i just remembered something else I didn’t like, lets dig into that.

My total death count in the game is 2. I for the sake of my sanity will in fact call it a no death run of the game for the simple reason that this games collision boxes thought it would be funny to push me around. One instance when an attack hit me when I was standing behind it….2 feet away…..when the enemy had finished the attack a whole second beforehand. The other was me trying to open a chest for an item which frankly is a little delayed in its prompt for actually opening the damn thing. I missed the button press and ended up instead fired the god forsaken bow and arrow weapon with enough cooldown on it I can go for a light jog in the park and still not be able to move. I got hit because the game decided I missed when in truth it was just slow so I’m not gonna fight it and just feel happy with my “0 death cos it cheated me with stupid programming on those two times I actually died” run.

I liked it. Buy it if you can. Don’t if you can’t. If you have it, talk to me in the comments about it. If you don’t, talk to me in the comments about it. My keyboard is losing battery power. Can’t articulate much. Thanks for reading.

Bye.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Matt on January 27, 2015 - 10:40 am

    I enjoyed the game, but I just dropped it after thirty hours or so – a short while after clearing the main quest.

    The thing is, although levelling up on all the classes is fun, it involves a lot of grinding (and, for some reason, the only grinding I enjoy is the one found on Monster Hunter games), not to mention all the cross-class requirements that you mentioned.

    Like

    • #2 by pyrusic on January 27, 2015 - 3:52 pm

      30 hours, huh? Seems like good value.

      A little off-topic but I didn’t enjoy Monster Hunter on 3DS when I first tried it. ‘Twas my first Monster Hunter game and I just didn’t catch the appeal of it, I guess. Any tips on how to enjoy it?

      Like

    • #3 by Matt on January 27, 2015 - 4:01 pm

      That’s hard to say. Due to my dislike of mindless grinding I thought for sure I would not like Monster Hunter when I got it on the Wii, but I ended up loving it… Go figure!

      I did not play the 3DS version, but I assume it has a big online mode like the one on the Wii, right?! One where you can pretty much play all major missions of the main adventure besides other hunters. If that’s so, then try to do the missions online cooperatively!

      Like

    • #4 by pyrusic on January 27, 2015 - 4:51 pm

      Unfortunately, I think the 3DS version may have been missing an online mode. But I hear multiplayer is a big aspect of the game so I imagine the 3DS version at least had local co-op or online through friend codes. I’d definitely give it another try if I had others to play with; that’s what Monster Hunter stands for, does it not?

      Like

    • #5 by Matt on January 27, 2015 - 6:28 pm

      Oh, that’s disappointing to hear… but I am sure Monster Hunter 4 will have a strong online functionality like the one on the Wii version of MH3.

      I had a lot of fun playing the game by myself as well; I actually only jumped online later when I had good equipment and was looking to farm resources for a better armor/weapon combo, but since playing with others is indeed more fun (not to mention that the monsters are, generally, defeated more quickly than the general 50 minutes that it takes to down one) so I thought it would be the best shot you would have at enjoying the game.

      The Monster Hunter franchise is certainly not for everyone. I was surprised I ended up liking it so much, as I thought it did not look like my kind of game at all.

      Like

    • #6 by pyrusic on January 27, 2015 - 6:39 pm

      I was just not quite sure how to progress beyond hunting monsters that weren’t much of a challenge and I think I could’ve worked at it for longer before I gave up. I’ll be looking forward to the next game then 😀

      Like

    • #7 by Matt on January 28, 2015 - 12:20 am

      If you were hunting monsters that were not much of a challenge than there is something wrong. =P

      The game is brutally hard and part of the fun is figuring out the attack patterns and get stronger in order how to kill the major monsters.

      Like

    • #8 by pyrusic on January 28, 2015 - 5:37 am

      Sounds like my kind of game, then 😀 I really did myself a disservice by getting rid of it. I’ll pick it up on my next trip out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

