OH JEEZAS!: Horror “Abominations” Vs “Monsters” In Video Games

When I say abominations I mean the kind of gory,creepy creatures where the entire fear comes from what they look like. When I say monsters I mean creatures that are more than just mindless and try to kill you, I refer to the smart creatures with a personality and a disturbing nature. I bring this up after a few runs of The Evil Within compounded with reviews and other peoples playthroughs.

I don’t find many horror games scary when they simply just throw abominations into my wake. I’m not the kind of person to fear this creature with 3 heads eyes drooping out, nor do I fear creepy looking creatures purely on their appearance. I don’t enjoy them either, it feels like shock more than fear, it is far too impersonal.

What I DO fear however are the monsters, the creatures with personality and tendencies, attitudes and the such. They act out in a way that disturbs me, maybe they walk along banging their heads on the wall because all they hear is screaming, or a horde of enemies that giggle and laugh as they walk about, respond as a group and have the knowledge to all run at me at once. It presents something more than the horror under the bed or creepy visuals, their very nature is unnerving.

What do you guys think? What kind of things make you really scared in horror games, or even horror elements in games where it isn’t the focus? The things that don’t just make you sorta cringe at looking at or whatever, something that ruins your composure?

Damn I used the word creatures a lot here, gotta google synonyms more often.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gaming Backlog on March 16, 2015 - 6:07 am

    I stay away from horror games. I don’t like being shocked (like, screamers). The closest I come to playing scary games is when I tolerate “ghost levels,” or participate in those kind of story-lines within non-horror games… Like Ocarina of Time, when those zombie things took over the little town below Hyrule Castle, even that was a bit too much for me. And I would have to agree with the earlier posts that sound has a lot to do with it. Things can look terrifying, but without the right sounds, I could care less.

    Like

  2. #2 by Grocs on October 27, 2014 - 3:35 am

    Good sound design often brings the scares out in me. Multi-directional sound from apparitions you can’t see is very creepy.

    Like

    • #3 by Prof.mcstevie on October 29, 2014 - 7:36 pm

      I too find sound to be a big play in the atmosphere, especially when what I should fear sounds all to alike to common place sounds. Is that a grinding noise? Oh god let it be the gears again, for the love of all that is holy don’t be HIM!

      Like

Leave a Reply

