This Sexiness Is Off-Putting: Bayonetta 2 & Sexiness

So I’ve seen a lot of discussion about Bayonetta 2 and the yet again rising question about the kind of character she is and what have you. I’m not gonna start a laboured and exhaustive explanation on my opinion on whether or not I believe she is a good female character, but I do find myself with a problem: I find her and the common portrayal of sexiness boring.

It’s the juvenile rub it in your face flesh showing everywhere with an all to long shot at asses kind of sexy. It isn’t interesting and the titillation is jarring when I came here for a extremely enjoyable action game. I personally prefer an incredibly display of subtlety to be shown for this aspect. I believe that truly attractive or sexy characters male female or what have you do not need to be shown or told, you simply KNOW. They ARE sexy because it is an instinctual feeling, when was the last time someone became attractive because someone told you? One should ooze sexuality without even mentioning it, and the lack of this subtlety really irks me to the point I have gone to a LinkedIn Group to see what some others opinions and views are.

I have no issue with liking the character or disliking the character provided as with all things you can give me a justifiable reasoning. I just thought it would be interesting to hear some other views of this.

As a side note, I started up this conversation among others at a LinkedIn group, check it out if you don’t hate yourself!

https://www.linkedin.com/groupItem?view=&gid=1842071&type=member&item=5932436426611265538&trk=groups_items_see_more-0-b-ttl

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Gaming Backlog on March 16, 2015 - 5:45 am

    I was thinking back to some popular female characters, and Lara Croft sticks out in my mind. I’m not sure about why people thought she was sexy, because she was just a bunch of polygons that were stuck together, but they did. I have to imagine that Lara Croft’s sexiness came from her character. She’s a confident, adventurous female who can take care of herself. She never had to be naked, or wear bikinis, for players to think she was sexy (although the community certainly demanded it AFTER her sexiness was agreed upon).

    Like

  2. #2 by ryz0283 on November 4, 2014 - 8:54 pm

    My thoughts exactly!

    Like

  3. #3 by Phantomess on October 29, 2014 - 1:54 pm

    Could you please link the “LinkedIn” group for this topic?

    Like

Leave a Reply

